Prestige Classes


Ghustils are healers who are adept at manipulating the energies of the Astral plane into healing power. Since natural healing is impossible on their native plane, those few githyanki who can master healing spells - bards, rangers, and the ghustil - are vitally important to their warrior culture. A ghustil's healing abilities pale in comparison to the clerics of other races, but they are beyond the reach of any bard or ranger, so their talents are greatly appreciated.

Ghustils generally begin their careers as wizards or bards (or psions, if you are using psionics), or sometimes as sorcerers. Few other classes bring the knowledge of arcane matters required for the ghustil's discipline.

Although they are primarily spellcasters, ghustils are not considered warlocks since they do not use their spells as weapons. Rather, they are part of the hr'a'cknir caste, along with experts and other craftspeople. Even so, they serve a crucial function in any military action, particularly such a large-scale action as the invasion of Pharagos, and at least one ghustil is found with every military unit of any size.

Hit Die: d6.


To qualify to become a ghustil, a character must fulfill all of the following criteria.

Race: Githyanki.

Skills: Heal 4 ranks, Knowledge (arcana) 8 ranks, Knowledge (the planes) 8 ranks.

Feats: Skill Focus (Heal).

Spellcasting: Able to cast 2nd-level arcane spells.

Class Skills

The ghustil's class skills (and the key ability for each skill) are Concentration (Con), Craft (Int), Diplomacy (Cha), Heal (Wis), Knowledge (arcana) (Int), Knowledge (the planes) (Int), Profession (Wis), Sense Motive (Wis), Spellcraft (Int), and Survival (Wis).

Skill Points at Each Level: 2 + Int modifier.

Table: The Ghustil

Level Base
Special Spells per Day
1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
1st +0 +2 +2 +2 5
2nd +1 +3 +3 +3 6 3
3rd +2 +3 +3 +3 6 4
4th +3 +4 +4 +4 6 5 3
5th +3 +4 +4 +4 6 6 4
6th +4 +5 +5 +5 6 6 5 3
7th +5 +5 +5 +5 6 6 6 4
8th +6 +6 +6 +6 6 6 6 5 3
9th +6 +6 +6 +6 6 6 6 6 4
10th +7 +7 +7 +7
6 6 6 6 5 3

Table: Ghustil Spells Known

  Spells Known
Level 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
1st 3
2nd 3 1
3rd 4 2
4th 4 2 1
5th 5 3 2
6th 5 3 2 1
7th 5 4 3 2
8th 5 4 3 2 1
9th 5 5 4 3 2
10th 5 5 4 3 2 1
Class Features

All of the following are class features of the ghustil prestige class.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: Ghustils gain no proficiency with any weapons or armor.

Spells Per Day/Spells Known: Beginning at 1st level, a ghustil gains the ability to cast a number of spells. These spells are neither arcane nor divine, but are powered by the energies of the Astral Plane. To cast a spell, the ghustil must be on a plane that connects to the Astral Plane. (In the D&D cosmology, all planes connect to the Astral Plane, but an alternate cosmology might have a more limited Astral Plane.) Ghustils do not receive bonus spells, and saving throws against those few spells on their spell list that allow saving throws (cure spells against undead) have a DC of 10 + spell level + the bonus for the minimum Wisdom required to cast the spell, or 10 + spell level times 1 1/2. The ghustil's spell list appears below. A ghustil casts spells just as a bard does, except that his spells are neither arcane nor divine. A ghustil's caster level is equal to his class level plus his caster level in one other spellcasting class.

Ghustil Spell List

Ghustils choose their spells known from the following very limited list. A 10th-level ghustil knows every spell on the list except for one of the two 6th-level spells.

1st - bless, cure light wounds, deathwatch, remove fear, shield of faith;

2nd - aid, cure moderate wounds, delay poison, lesser restoration, remove paralysis;

3rd - cure serious wounds, remove blindness/deafness, remove curse, remove disease;

4th - cure critical wounds, mass cure light wounds, restoration;

5th - mass cure moderate wounds, raise dead;

6th - heal, mass cure serious wounds.