Prestige Classes


Jaguar knights are associated with the temple of Zaltec, god of war. Although this temple is opposed to that of the eagle knights in philosophy, the two knightly orders are generally friendly. To the knights, nationality is more important than religion.

Hit Die: d10.


To qualify to become a jaguar knight, a character must fulfill all of the following criteria.

Alignment: Any nongood.

Base Attack Bonus: +5.

Skills: Perform (dance) 1 rank, Survival 3 ranks.

Feats: Proficiency with composite shortbow, maca (longsword), shortbow, and shortspear.

Special: An aspiring jaguar knight must apprentice at a lodge. She acts as a normal soldier, although she receives special training and possibly special treatment. A character cannot actually become a jaguar knight until the leaders of the order feel that she has proven herself in battle.

Class Skills

The jaguar knight's class skills (and the key ability for each skill) are Balance (Dex), Climb (Str), Concentration (Con), Craft (Int), Handle Animal (Cha), Hide (Dex), Intimidate (Cha), Jump (Str), Knowledge (arcana) (Int), Move Silently (Dex), Perform (Cha), Spellcraft (Int), Survival (Wis), Swim (Str), and Use Rope (Dex).

Skill Points at Each Level: 4 + Int modifier.

Table: The Jaguar Knight

Level Base
Special Hishna Spells
1st +1 +2 +0 +0 Jaguar form 1/day +1 1st-level hishna spell
2nd +2 +3 +0 +0 Poison use +1 1st-level hishna spell
3rd +3 +3 +1 +1 Jaguar form 2/day +1 1st-level hishna spell
4th +4 +4 +1 +1 Cat eyes +1 2nd-level or lower hishna spell
5th +5 +4 +1 +1 Jaguar form (dire jaguar) 3/day +1 2nd-level or lower hishna spell
6th +6 +5 +2 +2 Spell resistance (10 + Cha modifier) +1 2nd-level or lower hishna spell
7th +7 +5 +2 +2 Jaguar form 4/day +1 2nd-level or lower hishna spell
8th +8 +6 +2 +2 Pounce +1 3rd-level or lower hishna spell
9th +9 +6 +3 +3 Jaguar form 5/day +1 3rd-level or lower hishna spell
10th +10 +7 +3 +3 Spell resistance (15 + Cha modifier) +1 3rd-level or lower hishna spell
Class Features

All of the following are class features of the jaguar knight prestige class.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: Jaguar knights are proficient with all simple and martial weapons, as well as with light armor, hide armor, and all types of shields. Additionally, a jaguar knight has the right to buy and wear jaguar knight armor.

Hishna Spells: At each jaguar knight level, the character chooses one hishna spell (see the Hishna Spell List), which she can use once per day as a spell-like ability. If she chooses the same spell more than once, she can use it one additional time per day. Her spell choices are limited according to her level, as indicated on Table: The Jaguar Knight. Thus, an 8th-level jaguar knight can use eight hishna spells per day as spell-like abilities, one up to 3rd level, four up to 2nd level, and three of 1st level. Her caster level is equal to her jaguar knight class level. The save DCs are Wisdom-based.

Jaguar Form (Su): A jaguar knight can assume the form of a jaguar (use leopard statistics) while wearing jaguar knight armor. This ability functions like the polymorph spell, except that the jaguar knight is limited to the form of a jaguar (or a dire jaguar at higher level). This ability is usable once per day at 1st level, and one additional time per day every two jaguar knight levels thereafter (at 3rd, 5th, 7th, and 9th levels). At 5th level and above, the jaguar knight can choose to take the form of a dire jaguar (use tiger statistics).

Poison Use (Ex): At 2nd level, a jaguar knight is trained in the use of poison and never risks accidentally poisoning herself when applying poison to a blade.

Cat Eyes (Ex): At 4th level, a jaguar knight gains darkvision to a range of 60 feet and low-light vision.

Spell Resistance: At 6th level, a jaguar knight gains spell resistance equal to 10 + her Charisma modifier. At 10th level, her spell resistance increases to 15 + her Charisma modifier. If she already has spell resistance, the benefits do not stack, and she uses this value or her other spell resistance value, whichever is higher.

Pounce (Ex): At 8th level, a jaguar knight can make a full attack after a charge, even though she has moved.

Hishna Spell List

Jaguar knights choose their spell-like abilities from this list.

1st Level: Alarm, animate rope, calm animals, cause fear, deathwatch, detect animals or plants, detect snares and pits, disguise self, hypnotism, identify, magic fang, magic weapon, message, pass without trace, protection from good, silent image, spider climb, summon nature's ally I, true strike;

2nd Level: Alter self, animal messenger, animal trance, barkskin, cat's grace, charm animal, charm person, bull's strength, darkness, hold animal, invisibility, minor image, mirror image, misdirection, scare, silence, speak with animals, spiritual weapon, summon nature's ally II, summon swarm, web;

3rd Level: Bestow curse, charm monster, deeper dankness, dominate animal, displacement, fear, greater magic fang, greater magic weapon, haste, invisibihty sphere, Leomund's tiny hut, magic vestment, major image, poison, scrying, sculpt sound, slow, snare, speak with plants, summon nature's ally III.