Prestige Classes


The mysteries of the seventh mounting heaven, the celestial layer of Chronias, are unplumbed even by the archons who inhabit Celestia’s lower layers. Tales say that those who enter have their inherent goodness magnified until their essence joins with Celestia itself. From their homes and studies on the Material Plane, celestial mystics strive to attain this ultimate unity with the perfect good. By contemplating the mystery of the Illuminated Heaven, they believe that they become more pure, more good, and more perfect. As they improve themselves, they become suited—after long effort and much meditation— to ascend to the seventh heaven and find what they describe as simultaneously a perfect extinction and a perfect immortality, a oneness with the highest good in all the planes.

The path of the celestial mystic is esoteric and mysterious, and appeals most commonly to wizards and other characters with an academic interest in the planes, particularly the upper planes, their denizens, and the fabric of reality itself. Clerics, sorcerers, and monks are often drawn to the class as well. Barbarians, druids, fighters, rangers, and rogues rarely have the interest or discipline to follow the demanding contemplative path of the celestial mystic.

Celestial mystics are often loners, poring over cryptic manuscripts and practicing their meditative techniques. However, they have a strong ethic of involvement in the world even as they seek to transform it, and strive to live out their increasing goodness by helping the weak and helpless. Thus, they are often found as part of adventuring groups (made up of similarly high-minded individuals) or otherwise actively involved in fighting evil or promoting good.

Hit Die: d4.


To qualify to become a celestial mystic, a character must fulfill all of the following criteria.

Alignment: Lawful good.

Skills: Knowledge (arcana) 4 ranks, Knowledge (the planes) 4 ranks, Knowledge (religion) 6 ranks, Spellcraft 6 ranks.

Feats: Servant of the Heavens, Sacred Vow, Vow of Abstinence.

Spells: Able to cast 4th-level spells.

Class Skills

The celestial mystic's class skills (and the key ability for each skill) are Concentration (Con), Craft (Int), Diplomacy (Cha), Heal (Wis), Knowledge (arcana, the planes, religion) (Int), and Spellcraft (Int).

Skill Points at Each Level: 4 + Int modifier.

Table: The Celestial Mystic

Level Base
Special Spells per day
1st +0 +0 +0 +2 Blessing of the Silver Heaven
2nd +1 +0 +0 +3 Celestial spells +1 level of existing class
3rd +1 +1 +1 +3 Blessing of the Golden Heaven +1 level of existing class
4th +2 +1 +1 +4 +1 level of existing class
5th +2 +1 +1 +4 Blessing of the Pearly Heaven +1 level of existing class
6th +3 +2 +2 +5 +1 level of existing class
7th +3 +2 +2 +5 Blessing of the Crystal Heaven +1 level of existing class
8th +4 +2 +2 +6 Blessing of the Platinum Heaven +1 level of existing class
9th +4 +3 +3 +6 Blessing of the Glittering Heaven +1 level of existing class
10th +5 +3 +3 +7 Blessing of the Illuminated Heaven +1 level of existing class
Class Features

All of the following are class features of the celestial mystic prestige class.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: Celestial mystics gain no proficiency with any weapon or armor.

Blessing of the Silver Heaven (Su): A 1st-level celestial mystic gains electricity resistance 10 and a +2 sacred bonus on saving throws against disease, poison, and petrification. In addition, a magic circle against evil effect always surrounds the mystic, identical to the spell cast by a cleric whose level equals the celestial mystic’s character level.

Spells per Day/Spells Known: At 2nd level, and each level thereafter, a celestial mystic gains new spells per day (and spells known, if applicable) as if he had also gained a level in a spellcasting class he belonged to before adding the prestige class. He does not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained (improved chance of turning or destroying undead, metamagic or item creation feats, and so on), except for an increased effective level of spellcasting. If a character had more than one spellcasting class before becoming a celestial mystic, he must decide to which class he adds the new level for purposes of determining spells per day.

Celestial Spells: Once he reaches 2nd level, a celestial mystic can cast spells as if he were an archon. Specifically, the mystic can cast any spell described in Chapter 6 that has a celestial or archon component, as long as he can otherwise cast the spell (it appears on his spell list, it is of a level of spells that he can cast, and he has a sufficient ability score to cast spells of that level). He does not gain any other celestial qualities. For instance, he is not immune to the blast of a trumpet archon.

Blessing of the Golden Heaven (Su): A celestial mystic of 3rd level or higher is immune to death spells and magical death effects.

Blessing of the Pearly Heaven (Su): A 5th-level celestial mystic retains his Dexterity bonus to AC regardless of being caught flat-footed or struck by an invisible attacker. In addition, a celestial mystic may make a mystical knowledge check with a bonus equal to his class level + his Intelligence modifier to see whether he knows some relevant information about legendary people, places, or items. If he has 5 or more ranks in Knowledge (history), he gains a +2 bonus on this check. Otherwise this works as a bardic knowledge check.

Blessing of the Crystal Heaven (Su): At 7th level, a celestial mystic can cure his own wounds. He can cure up to three times his class level in hit points each day, and he can spread this healing out among several uses. In addition, he gains immunity to disease and poison, and a +2 sacred bonus on saving throws against Enchantment spells and effects.

Blessing of the Platinum Heaven (Su): At 8th level, a celestial mystic gains the ability to channel spell energy into a bolt of holy power. The bolt is a ranged touch attack with long range (400 ft. + 40 ft./class level) and deals 4d6 points of damage plus 1d6 points of damage per level of the spell channeled to create the effect. For example, a celestial mystic who channels a 7thlevel spell into holy power deals 11d6 points of damage to the target if the bolt hits.

Blessing of the Glittering Heaven (Su): At 9th level, a celestial mystic gains spell resistance 20 and damage reduction 10/unholy.

Blessing of the Illuminated Heaven (Su): A 10th-level celestial mystic is surrounded by an aura of positive energy to a radius of 10 feet. Within that emanation, life flourishes: colors are brighter, fires are hotter, noises are louder, and sensations are more intense. (This effect is purely sensory; game effects such as energy damage are not affected.) All living creatures within the aura, including the celestial mystic, gain fast healing 2 as an extraordinary ability as long as they remain there. No undead creature with fewer than 10 HD can enter the aura, and those brought into it act as if they had been turned. Undead with 10 HD or more can enter the aura unharmed, but they do not gain fast healing.